skip to content

Cambridge Latin Course

The five books in the Cambridge Latin Course take students from beginner to GCSE level. The books are set firmly in the cultural context of the Roman world in the first century AD and is the most successful Latin course in the UK. With nearly 4,000,000 copies sold, its methods are well established and highly effective.

The story-based Course provides an enjoyable and carefully paced introduction to the Latin language, complemented by background information on Roman culture and civilisation. The material progresses from simple stories written specially for the Course, through adaptations of Roman authors, to original texts. The texts are accompanied by explanations of key language points, and are supported by grammar practice exercises.  When a student is studying the later stages of Book IV or has started Book V, he or she may be ready to turn to the Cambridge Latin Anthology, which provides a wide and engaging range of original Latin poetry and prose texts.

Books I and II are supported by a Dept. for Education sponsored E-Learning Resource, specifically designed to support those teaching and learning without a Latin specialist teacher in the classroom and extensive support for the Course is provided in the Cambridge Latin Course area of this website.


Book I
Book II
Book III
Book IV
Book V


Pompeii, shortly before the eruption of Vesuvius. Roman Britain, then Roman Egypt. Roman Bath, then Roman Chester. Imperial Rome. Court of Emperor Domitian. Includes verse by Martial and Ovid.


Divided into 12 Stages. Divided into 8 Stages (13 to 20). Divided into 8 Stages (21 to 28). Divided into 6 Stages (29 to 34). Divided into 6 Stages (35 to 40).


Tests are available at the end of Stages 4, 8 and 12.


Tests are available at the end of Stages 16, 18 and 20.


Tests are available at the end of Stages 22, 26 and 28.

Assessment at this level is often by GCSE public examination, but attainment tests are provided in the Teacher's Guide at the end of Stages 31 and 34.

Teaching and Learning

Books I and II form coherent courses in their own right and are suitable for independent study at a student's own pace, or for delivery by a non-Latin specialist teacher, perhaps with support from one of our e-tutors.

Each book may be covered in one academic year on about one hour per week. Schools may therefore, for example, offer courses centred on Book I ranging in length from 12 hours (covering Stages 1 to 4) to 1 year (covering the whole Book).

Book III often represents the beginning of the Key Stage 4 GCSE course for students.

At this stage of a student's study, we recommend close subject specialist support. This might be provided by our videoconference scheme, or a school's own in-house teacher might be supported by our e-tutor scheme



5 book fan